Spirits Speaking/Espíritus Hablarndo

Spirits Speaking2

I was but a child when my grandmother was dying; I remember families were coming from all over to see her for the last time. It was a cold day and very cloudy, rain was announced over the radio.
Family and friends were standing outside the door to her room; they were crying as they left her room. I was really too young to understand what was going on except that I wouldn’t see her any more.
We were really never close, but I did like her. I stood at the bedroom door waiting to see her for the last time; I heard people say in a whisper,” she is not moving or talking.” I was scared, but I wanted to see her.
It was my turn inside, and my mother told me “not to stay long because grandmother needed her rest.” Her room was kind of dark; however, I made my way to her bed; she was asleep and really pale.
I turned around to leave, when I heard the voices of soldiers yelling, and I looked around but saw no one, then again; I heard arguing and fighting of many men coming from inside of my grandmothers mouth.
I looked at her and listened; her mouth wasn’t even moving, but I could hear men’s voices as they were fighting because no one wanted to leave. Finally, I only heard two as they were fighting and arguing, I heard them saying, “I was here first. No I was here first.” They continued until I could only hear an echo of their voices.
Their voices were getting faint until they faded, then my grandmother took a loud deep breath and cried out, and everyone came running; everyone was crying.
All my life I have thought about that, and I get chills. Thinking about those men inside of her mouth talking, where did they come from? Who were they? Where did they go?

 

Yo era sólo un niño cuando mi abuela moría; recuerdo que las familias venían de todas partes para verla por última vez. Esto era un día de frío y muy nublado, lluvias fue anunciada sobre el radio.
La familia y amigos estaban de pie fuera de la puerta de su cuarto; ellos lloravan saliando del cuando. Yo era realmente demasiado joven para entender lo que estava pasando, pero savia que yo no la vería más.
No éramos realmente cercanos, pero me dava gustó estar cercas de ella. Estuve de pie en la puerta de su cuarto esperado para verla por última vez; oí que la gente decía en un susurro,” ella no se mueve o habla.” Fui asustado, pero queria verla.
Era mi turno para verla, y mi madre me dijo “no quedarse mucho tiempo porque la abuela necesitava su resto.” Su cuarto estava oscuro; sin embargo, hice mi remer a su cama; ella estaba dormida y realmente palida.
Giré para marcharme, cuando oí las voces de gritos de soldados, y miré alrededor, pero no vi a nadie, entonces otra vez; oí discusión y enfrentamientos de muchos hombres que vienen de dentro de la boca de mi abuela.
La miré y escuché; su boca no se movie, pero yo podría oír voces de hombres cuando ellos luchaban porque nadie quiso marcharse. Finalmente, sólo oí dos cuando ellos luchaban y discutían, los oí diciendo, “yo estaba aquí primero. No yo estaba aquí primero.” Ellos siguieron hasta que yo sólo pudiera oír un eco de sus voces.
Sus voces se hacían débiles hasta que ellos se descoloraran, entonces mi abuela tomó un aliento profundo fuerte y lanzó un grito, y cada uno vino corriendo; cada uno gritaba.
Toda mi vida a pensado en esto, y consigo frialdad, siempre penso de aquellos hombres dentro de su boca, de dónde vinieron ellos? ¿Quiénes eran ellos?

 

Leave a Reply

